HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Where is my hairbrush??

9 Comments

I love the show Veggie Tales! For those of you who don’t know it is is basically Bible stories told by cartoon vegetables with other funny sketches thrown in the mix just for kicks. One of my favourite songs that they do is called the Hairbrush song (and no it is not related to any Bible story whatsoever. I have posted a link at the bottom of the post – it is really sweet).

In the hairbrush song Larry the cucumber is lamenting the loss of his hairbrush following his shower. Bob the tomato comes in to tell Larry that he has given Larry’s hairbrush to the peach as the peach has hair and Larry does not. Larry finally makes peace with this situation and waves farewell to his hairbrush.

This song got me thinking about the holiday that I am currently having from my hairbrush due to my lack of hair (although unlike Larry no-one has physically given away my hairbrush)… The loss of my hair has been another area where I have really seen God’s faithfulness. Losing one’s hair is supposed to be one of the most traumatic parts of the cancer journey but after I shaved mine off (the falling out bit was a bit traumatic, rather uncomfy and seriously messy) I quite enjoyed sporting the GI Jane do and no tears have been shed over the hair! Don’t get me wrong, I am very much looking forward to my hair growing back and Joel and I have decided to have a race when my hair starts to come back to see whose can grow the fastest… But I feel that God has given me the grace and strength I need to deal with my hair’s summer vacation!! (I hope it has gone somewhere sunnier than the very rainy UK! 😉 ) I have been reminded that my identity is not found in how I look but in who I am as a much loved daughter of the King. Just another example of his never ending and abundant provision…

I have never posted a picture of me sans hair online but here is one of me with my little man and of course the link to the Veggie Tales! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtHr7gluh08

9 thoughts on “Where is my hairbrush??

  1. You look just as beautiful without hair my darling…you are wonderful! xx

  2. You are one awe-inspiring, gorgeous mumma!

  3. Hey! That reminds me of me impersonating a tuba while you sang another Veggie Tales song. Something like “If you like to talk to tomatoes, if a squash can make you smile….”. Well, that might be wrong, but my part was just to go “bom bom bom bom etc”, so you’ll have to excuse me. I echo the thoughts above that you’re just marvelous and a wonderful inspiration.Lots of luv!

  4. Beautiful as ever Cath, and yes, veggie tales are great, sooo funny,especially the strawberries lol, been so long since i watched them. Cant wait to see you guys. XXXX

  5. mistook these veggietales for some similar funny veggietales on utube lol. Still cool though xx

  6. Reblogged this on What is Lucy up to? and commented:
    My friend Cath writes with a refreshingly hope filled perspective about loosing her hair.

  7. You look absolutely beautiful Cath and what a beautiful blog you have set up.

  8. That is one funky headpiece. I think I should employ that trend.
    Sending buckets of love from Kaapstad xxx

Leave a Reply

