HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Show me the Monet

1 Comment

This week I discovered a new daytime TV show called Show Me the Monet (BBC 2 every day at 3pm). It is fantastic and is already my new favourite show! The premise of the show is that people bring a piece of art that they have created to three art critics for judging. The critics then pick what they think are the best pieces and these are put into an exhibition in London.

I know it sounds a bit dull, but it is really fascinating. The diversity of media and subject matter is astonishing and I love to hear the artists’ stories. Many of the pieces are just beautiful and the stories so moving.

A few of the artists (many of whom just do art on the side rather than for their jobs) have spoken of an actual need that is in them to create something and this is something that I can really identify with. I have always loved art, craft and music but since beginning on this cancer journey I feel the need to create something beautiful is stronger than ever in me.

I have been thinking about why this need is so strong in me and I have realised that it is because creating things is part of my DNA. It is how I have been made. For me, one of the times when I come most alive is when I make things and there is freedom and joy in that place.

I had never really thought of craft as being a particularly spiritual activity until a couple of months ago when chatting with my mum-in-law. She said something along the lines of that when you do the things that God has put in you that make you come alive, then that is an act of worship to Him. That really resounded with me and I guess explains why I feel such freedom when playing the piano or baking a cake (as weird as that sounds)… When thinking of this I am reminded of 2 Corinthians 3:17 which says, “Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”

I am not for a second saying that craft should be my only expression of worship (how peculiar that would be!) but rather that we shouldn’t discount the things that make us come alive as being unimportant or insignificant on our spiritual journeys. They form an important aspect of whole-life worship and a reminder that God is with us in our every day.Image

(I got this image from a pretty cool blog – http://typographicverses.com – check it out!)

One thought on “Show me the Monet

  1. Cath, this is truly an inspiring blog, I am really enjoying reading your posts. Lots of love x x x

Leave a Reply

