HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Birthdays

3 Comments

This weekend sees another milestone in our lives, and an exciting one at that! This weekend I will be attending my very first second birthday party (I think since I was two). It is the party of a very special little lad who is the son of two great friends. I cannot wait!

It is funny how life changes as I can’t imagine getting all that excited about going to a children’s birthday party a few years ago! (Although the last children’s party we went to a couple of years back involved a trip to the Early Learning Centre which made Joel more keen than ever before to have children!) But in this season I am really looking forward to celebrating this wonderful little life.

I have been thinking about what to get him for his birthday for ages and finally settled on a gift only to discover whilst at their house today that he already had something very similar. I was mildly gutted but not too heartbroken as I means I get to go shopping for toys again. šŸ™‚ I am excited about baking the number 2 shaped cookies for the children to decorate and for seeing the excitement on this little chap’s face when he sees his friends and his presents. I am excited that before too long it will also be my little one’s turn to celebrate his birthday.

One of the best bits about a birthday party is the moment when the cake comes out with the candles lit and everyone sings happy birthday. It is so lovely to see the sheer delight on the child’s face (adults are less fun as they usually just look awkward) and everyone in the room gets to sing to the child and delight in them and their happiness. And then you get to cheer for them! How wonderful!

That moment of joyful singing and cheering reminds me of Zephaniah 3:17 which says:

The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves.

He will take great delight in you;

in his love he will no longer rebuke you,but will rejoice over you with singing.

To me this is such a beautiful image of God, His love for us and how precious He thinks we are. He celebrates us, sings over us and cheers for us each step of the way, every day! For me that image just makes me smile and reminds me what an amazing God I worship!

3 thoughts on “Birthdays

  1. One of my favourite scriptures and I needed to read that right now! Isn’t it wonderful that right now being yourself (in all it’s wonderful facets) is touching so many people – even if you don’t know it x

  2. Birthdays have always been big in our family…but I love the image of God delighting in us every day so that each day is as special as a birthday….. thank you for sharing that with us my precious Cath xx

  3. I love that image of God rejoicing with us and over us. It is one I often get for people when I ask God for a word of encouragement. WOW, He is such a proud Father!
    and He’s partying it up for you!
    šŸ™‚
    Many blessings
    Kimbi

Leave a Reply

