HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

No Signal

3 Comments

Last night Joel and I were watching TV when the heavens absolutely opened outside and it poured and poured and poured. This was some serious rain. (and it made me rather nervous for our camping trip coming up!) As the rain got particularly hard we lost signal on our TV. We were busy watching the final of a cooking competition that I had been avidly following when the signal went out… (Joel was graciously watching to keep me company as he is not a fan!) It was only when the rain subsided that we got the signal back, first just for a second or two and only the sound or the picture. But eventually the signal was restored and I could continue watching cooking to my heart’s content.

To me this is what life is like sometimes. Sometimes just when you feel you are getting to the good bit then the storms come. Sickness turns up, or a job is lost or a loved one passes away. Struggles and challenges ‘rain’ so hard that you feel like you have lost signal and you might not make it at all.

When I was first diagnosed with cancer I was absolutely terrified. I wasn’t really scared of the treatment or even of dying particularly. What I was scared of was that I wouldn’t get to see my baby grow up, that I would die and he wouldn’t have a mummy or any memories of me, and that I would leave Joel to raise him on his own. And that absolutely terrified me and broke my heart at the same time.

It felt like the rain was coming so hard that I could barely stand and signal was definitely lost. But God didn’t leave me in this place and as I have journeyed I have known His comfort and in fits and starts my ‘signal’ has been restored.

In this place I have been reminded of Isaiah 43:1-2 which says:

But now, this is what the Lord says –

he who created you, Jacob,

he who formed you, Israel:

β€˜Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;

I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

When you pass through the waters,

I will be with you;

and when you pass through the rivers,

they will not sweep over you.

When you walk through the fire,

you will not be burned;

the flames will not set you ablaze.

For me, this is such a comfort. I know that in everything, through this rainy season, not only am I known to and loved by God but so is my family. He knows what I, my husband and our son need and he will not leave us as we pass through this water and I look forward to the day when my ‘signal’ is restored in full.

3 thoughts on “No Signal

  1. Thank you Cathy, I love your blog and this one especially, just with the stresses and strains of life its hard without the treatment you must be going through too, its lovely to have reassurance that in time life will get easier, Love to you and Joel and your gorgeous little Jonty x

  2. Hey Cath! Thanks for another great insight. I like reading your blogs because I feel I get a little more understanding of what you’re living with each time you write, so please keep them coming. I hope the rain has subsided and you’re keeping warm. Just a little news from home: It’s pouring across most of the country and the Knysna marathon has been cancelled due to flooding! I had quite a few friends doing it, so quite a blow! I’m working today but hoping to go in search of snow tomorrow in Hogsback. I’ve yet to see snow in South Africa as I keep missing it, so hopefully my plan won’t be thwarted. Lots of love!

  3. πŸ™‚ Hi Cath
    so glad i found your blog.
    Wow! such a beautiful message, God has always used you in a special way to bring His light and wisdom to others.
    I look forward to reading more, especially as you are able to put into words in a special way how you are and where you and your family are at.
    Wouter and I are leading an outreach team from YWAM in East London and are loving it. Many new challenges but its mind blowing seeing God work.
    We have been praying for you, relying on the Spirit, but it will be great knowing some details from your blog, which we can join in thanking God for etc.
    May God’s presence be so tangible to you and Joel.
    lots of love
    Kimbi

Leave a Reply

