HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Jumping hurdles

12 Comments

Today is Sunday (only just, but Sunday nevertheless). Just two more days left until I will be jumping another hurdle in my treatment journey. At 7am on this coming Tuesday morning I will be reporting to the hospital as Tuesday sees my surgery roll around.

I have found preparing for this surgery has been something of an emotional roller coaster (I even find the thought of the general anaesthetic a bit scary). I know in my head that the surgery is a vital part of my treatment and that it is such a positive thing, but my heart is still playing catch up on reaching such a positive place. It is a funny thing to know that something is good and right and yet still to feel so sad about it.

Over the past few days I have been really enjoying the Paralympics and they have served as a real reality check for me. I have been so inspired by the countless athletes who have faced all manner of challenges in their lives but who have chosen not to be limited by these challenges but rather to live their lives to the full. They are such an example to me and I have really found that watching them has helped me to pull myself out of my own personal pity party and gear up to face this next stage of treatment head on, all the while keeping my eyes on the treatment finish line.

I am so thankful for the excellent treatment that I am receiving, for the amazing hospital staff and for the love and support of my friends and family. I know that in this next phase I can trust God to give me the strength I need to face each day, just as he has done in the chapters that have already passed. As I prepare for the surgery I am reminded of and encouraged by the lyrics to Desert Song by Brooke Fraser (it’s such a great song – check it out on YouTube if you don’t know it) which talks about God’s faithfulness though the difficult times of our lives.

This is my prayer in the desert
When all that’s within me feels dry
This is my prayer in my hunger and need
My God is the God who provides

This is my prayer in the fire
In weakness, or trial, or pain
There is a faith proved of more worth than gold
So refine me Lord through the flame

This is my prayer in the battle
When triumph is still on its way
I am conquerer and co-heir with Christ
so firm on His promise I’ll stand

I will bring praise, I will bring praise
No weapon formed against shall remain
I will rejoice, I will declare
God is my victory and He is here

12 thoughts on “Jumping hurdles

  1. Of course you are on an emotional roller coaster regarding your surgery. I am so glad that the paralympics have come around at just the “right time” so that you could be inspired by all those people that have turned adversity into success. Nevertheless, what you are facing is still daunting. God will carry you through it all – the good days and the bad days, and you have so many people throughout the world praying victory over you. Will be thinking of you and just pray that you will be wrapped in love over the next few weeks.

  2. Dear Cath,
    Just love your blog – inspiring indeed. I’m now following you!

    Amanda

  3. Thinking of you Cath, and remembering that the song doesn’t end there. May the last verse remind you of and encourage you to look to the harvest that us still on its way. Much love

  4. Cath you are an amazing lady – such an inspiration and example to us all. May the GOD of all comfort wrap His loving arms around you as you face this next hurdle. Just know that HE will be there to carry you through all the way and know too that William and I pray for you and your family every day. Be blessed special lady!
    Hugs x Gill & William

  5. Dearest Cath, thanks for baring your heart re the surgery. Our hearts are so with you as you face it. “My heart and my flesh may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever……I have made the Sovereign Lord my refuge; I will tell of all your deeds” Ps 72:26,28. Lots of love, Janet

  6. My thoughts are with you! I trust that it all went well. For big situations or feelings, thoughts, or hopes – I often remind myself that for God all miracles are the same – there is no such thing as a small or large miracle to Him. He just needs to speak for it to happen, no matter how big or small. It’s us who scale miracles and somehow think a big miracle is harder for Him than a small miracle, and then we act according to this.

    I wish you peace, courage and love for this challenging time.

  7. Hi Cath.

    I only know you from a distance (from when you were here at CHS) but wanted you to know my thoughts and prayers are truly with you as you face the surgery on Tuesday. I have recently found myself in a similar boat, except I had the surgery first (2 weeks ago) and now, as you head into your op, I will be seeing the oncologist for the first time on Tuesday morning to hear more about what further treatment I will be needing.

    In solitude, on wings of prayer
    My soul ascends before the throne;
    My only hope of strength is where
    My heart and His meet all alone. β€”Anon.

    Strength to you and your family for this week.
    Mel

  8. Praying for you Cath, for more strength and more courage to fill you each day, and for tomorrow especially. Your hope is a wonderful display of what God wants from us. Its not about us, its all about Him, and allowing His power to work through us when we surrender to Him completely. I pray that your words (this blog) continue to glorify God and grow His kingdom as others read and understand the significance of hope x
    love Georgie

  9. Hi Cath

    It has been such a blessing to be a part (if only via your Mom and your blog) of your journey over the last few months. You have truly been an inspiration! My thoughts and prayers will be with you (and Joel) as you have surgery tomorrow. I KNOW God has only the best planned for you guys and that one day looking back you will be amazed at what He has accomplished.
    I really pray that you will continue to hold onto God and that you will be so very aware of His presence and His unbelievable love for you.

    lv
    Nina πŸ™‚

  10. Lifting you up to our great Father on Tuesday and also for tonight for you to be able to get some needed peaceful sleep. Keep running this race with perseverance, you are doing so well! Love and prayers x

  11. Thanks, Cath, for such a moving reminder that we can praise Him in all things. Will be praying for you and Joel and Jonty with your mum tomorrow as you head for that hospital. Peace to you as you sleep
    tonight. Much love.

  12. Thanks for this Cath. We’re the ones praying for you and supporting you in your time of need, yet at the same time you are blessing us so much by sharing your story and your faith. God IS your victory, and He IS there.

Leave a Reply

