HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Hit me baby one more time!

4 Comments

Two and a half weeks have now passed since I finished my radiotherapy. Another huge box to tick off on my treatment journey. Hooray!

Radiotherapy was a weird experience… Going to the hospital every day for three weeks. Driving there, parking, walking to oncology, waiting in the waiting room, getting called into the treatment room which was always freezing, stripping off, being lined up on the machine according to lasers and my tattoos given for this purpose, being scanned, realigned and then lying in the machine in the cold for 15 minutes, getting dressed and going home with cries of “See you tomorrow” to the radiographers.

Each day staring at the ‘Disney Cars’ stickers which are stuck inside the radiotherapy machine, listening to the machine which is noisy and sounds like a cross between a hoover and a truck reversing, and each day wondering what the soundtrack for that day’s treatment would be. (The radiographers pick the music and my personal favourite was the day with both Spice Girls and Britney Spears… It was seriously weird receiving treatment to the strains of ‘Hit me baby one more time’! πŸ™‚ )

The weirdest part was that receiving treatment didn’t feel like anything. I guess I have come to associate treatment with pain, or at least mild discomfort. But with radiotherapy there was nothing, just feeling freezing in the machine. Not what I expected at all. (the radiation burn on my skin did kick in eventually but only after the treatment finished and this is now thankfully on the mend.)

While the physical effects of radiotherapy were limited, (and definitely far easier to bear than both the chemo and surgery) it has been an interesting time emotionally. I have found myself feeling a bit lost and distressed at the thought that my three main threads of treatment were coming to an end. On thinking about why this is I have realised it is because receiving treatment is a positive, proactive thing and I am someone that likes to have a plan!

I like to take steps to move things forward in all aspects of my life and I don’t like the feeling that everything is happening around me and there is not a lot I can do to influence it.

This has highlighted once again to me the mental battle I have found dealing with cancer to be. This is such a challenge to me and an area that, without God, I think I would find impossible. I have found such comfort in the things that I believe He has promised me, both generally and specifically and this has proved a real source of strength in these turbulent times.

These promises and words of comfort are too many to write here, but below are just a few verses from Psalm 18 which I have found such an encouragement and I look forward to God bringing me into that spacious place that the Psalmist talks about.

He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
from my foes, who were too strong for me.
They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
but the Lord was my support.
He brought me out into a spacious place;
he rescued me because he delighted in me.

4 thoughts on “Hit me baby one more time!

  1. THat is such an amazing response. Thank you for being so honest, it really helps so many…

  2. A privilege as always to gain an insight into your treatment. Glad to hear it is coming to an end and you can use your positive energy for a full recovery. Love to you all. Gx

  3. Cath could you dare to believe that your testomony may have strengthenen, or even evangilised those who have shared your journey via
    ‘Hope Overflowing’? That your generosity in sharing what was a very gurelling and anxious time for your self and family may have even light a flame for some who have lost their faith.? You are a richly talented young lady and mother, you will continue to have a positive impact on those around you in what ever role you find yourself in the future. ‘Because I Live, you will LIVE also’. John 14:19. God Bless you.

  4. Praying for you, Cath, and for Joel and Jonty. Strength to you as you come through this time with hope and that amazing joy. You are beautiful to behold! much love,
    Martha

Leave a Reply

