HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Moving house and birthday fun!

7 Comments

In the six weeks since I last wrote a lot has happened. Some good, some less so. But thankfully the good has far outweighed the bad! Perhaps the two most notable events were that we moved house (again!! Four houses in as many years. Phew!) and my little boy  turned one. 🙂

We are now living in the Cambridgeshire countryside, flanked front and back by farms, with a beautiful big garden, so much more space and a duck pond at the end of our road. How wonderful! The timing of this move has been perfect and we are so thankful to God for His timing and for the provision of this spacious place. (We are almost finished unpacking the boxes too!)

My little lad’s first birthday was fantastic! We all had a lovely time and we threw him a Very Hungry Caterpillar themed party and invited all his little friends. Very cute!!

I always find that significant events and life changes always provide a good opportunity for reflection and I have been thinking a lot about the journey that I have been on over the past year in particular and where God has been in all of it.

A few weeks back, whilst on a Prayer Retreat weekend, one of the college tutors gave me a prophetic word. This was hugely significant to me as, although the word was a simple one, it was very specific, and it is the same word that has been given to me several times over the past ten years. The first time someone shared this word with me, my life looked completely different to how it looks now. It was before I finished university, before I met my husband, before I got married, got a proper job, had a baby, got cancer.

This word reminded me again of exactly where God was, and continues to be, during this road that I am walking. He is with me, walking with me, holding me and loving me, in my every day, just as He always has been.  What an amazing truth!

Today, I hope you know this truth for yourself, that God always goes with you. He is journeying with you. He is for you and will never leave you (Deur 31:6).

Here are a couple of pictures of my little chap at his party. I hope that they brighten your day. 🙂

DSC_0570

DSC_0559

Apple birthday cake

7 thoughts on “Moving house and birthday fun!

  1. Hey Cath – thanks for that gentle reminder that GOD is always with us – HE never leaves us nor forsakes us regardless of where we are at… I know that Jesus is holding you near to His heart and that He is breathing His desires in you. GOD has a wonderful plan for you and your precious family…
    And hey – I love your short hair – we can see your beautiful face more clearly!

  2. You’re such a babe! Fun party, fun times, faithful God

  3. What a special time to celebrate your little man’s birthday. Cake looked delish 🙂 Pleased to hear that you have so much to look foward too. Enjoy your new home and may it be filled with lots of love and laugher! xxx

  4. I needed this today. Thank you. Little man is looking so very, very cute too! You new house sounds lovely. xx

  5. Thanks for that! You have made me smile, my day is brighter even though the sun is not shining. xxx

  6. Hey what a cutie your little lad is! An absolute small version of his Dad. Wishing you love, laughter & happiness in your new home – the fields, the ducks, what a blessing!
    x

  7. Thanks for sharing, Cath! Much love to all 3 of you.
    x

Leave a comment