HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Machu Picchu or bust!

5 Comments

A few months ago a message popped up on Facebook, that was addressed to me and some other lovely ladies asking… Did any of us want to join a group that would be trekking to Machu Picchu in Peru in September for the charity CoppaFeel?

I laughed it off as being impossible, and just mentioned it to Joel that evening in passing. His response, “You HAVE to go! It will be amazing!” My response to his involved listing all the reasons why this was the most ridiculous idea ever and why I couldn’t possibly go. I was too unfit, I could never raise the money, what about little Jonty… The list went on… The next day I mentioned it to my folks and their response was alarmingly identical to Joel’s… “You HAVE to go! What an opportunity!”

This got me thinking, maybe I should do it… What if it isn’t a totally ridiculous idea… (even though it is TOTALLY not the sort of thing I would normally do… Like ever!!)

So, a few days later, with a petrified heart and a trembling hand, I paid my deposit. I was in!

The training began immediately and has had a fair few ups and downs (a particular downer was some pretty epic blisters that took a month, seriously, to heal!) And now, here I am and it is less than 24 hours until I leave.

I am still really scared (and this fear is only heightened by all those people who tell me how brave I am… Why is this brave? Is there something no one is telling me??) but I am also so proud and so thankful to have this opportunity and to be well enough to climb this mountain (ok I know…many mountains!)

The words of Habakkuk 3:19 have been spoken over me so many times in my life, but today they seems particularly apt and I rejoice in their truth:

GOD, the Lord, is my strength; he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places.

See you on the flip side! I look forward to sharing some photos and stories with you when I return from Peru!

5 thoughts on “Machu Picchu or bust!

  1. I got holy spirit shivers up and down my spine reading this post- how AMAZING!!! Revel in each moment!

  2. Yeehaw! Love you babe, you’ll be amazing. You are amazing!!! X

  3. Yes you are incredibly brave for so many reasons! I think this trek shows how far you have come since your fight with cancer – that you are well enough and able to go is a massive achievement. Personally you have really inspired me! I just want to wish you all the best as you embark on this amazing adventure xxx

  4. Go girl, we’ll be willing you on. Take time to admire the view too!
    Much love, A & C

  5. This is soooo exciting! What a challenge, but minor compared to what you have already gone through and overcome! Enjoy this magical adventure.
    Fond love ,H & M

Leave a Reply

