HOPE OVERFLOWING

stories of grace, hope and life beyond cancer

Teach me to dance

2 Comments

You know when you get just one line of a song stuck in your head for a day… Or two… Or a whole week? That has been me this week. Thankfully this week it is not the theme song from Ballamory which got stuck in my head one night a few months back and I spent most of the night lying awake trying to figure out all the words (I still don’t know which coloured house goes with which character).

The song, or rather lyric that I have had stuck in my head all week, is the first line of that 90s Graham Kendrick classic, “Teach me to dance”. And for those of you that don’t know it, the line goes:

Teach me to dance to the beat of your heart

Here’s a clip if you want to hear the original.

On Wednesday night I couldn’t sleep, which is not unusual for me. It had been a pretty full-on day and my mind was buzzing. I gave up on sleep at about 1:15am and went downstairs. I got out my journal and began to draw and write and think and this line kept coming back into my head, “Teach me to dance to the beat of your heart”.

This was quite strange as I haven’t heard this song in probably at least 10 years. So, I figured it must be a God thing.

As I pondered this lyric, its beauty and truth struck me and its potential overwhelmed me and I began to pray it for myself.

What a beautiful image of our lives as a dance, full of beauty, grace, energy, celebration and twirling in wonder. But not just any dance or a dance to a random song, this is a dance that is in time with God’s own heartbeat. What could be better than that?

It is my prayer that I always dance and that the dance of my life is full of joy and exuberance and beauty. But I also pray that I can always hear the heartbeat of God for my life, that I dance in time with Him and that my dance magnifies and brings glory to Him and honours the things and people that his heart beats for.

I pray that this lyric gets stuck in your head too and that you always seek to dance to the beat of His heart for your life.

IMG_0920.JPG

2 thoughts on “Teach me to dance

  1. Pingback: Coping Skills: #68. Dance | Rose with Thorns

  2. Beautiful and very insightful. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

